Children of Blood and Bone – Now We Rise Blog Tour

COBB Blog Tour Banner

Okay, so, first I want to thank the lovely people over at Macmillan UK for letting me be a part of this wonderful blog tour. Secondly, I want to thank Tomi Adeyemi for writing such a spectacular world that represents a culture that we need to see more of in mainstream entertainment! I’m so happy to be a part of this generation where we are seeing more change every day!

I think Children of Blood and Bone is really living up to its hype. It’s one of the very few books that do! What I personally love about it, is that the way Tomi writes is so poetic but very simple at the same time. When I was reading it I really noticed how much thought went into every detail. As well as having multiple POV’s, the characters are very well written their personalities really shine through.  Basically, you needed this book in your life yester-year. Everything about is amazing. So, go read it!


Untitled design

36859561

Title: Children of Blood and Bone

Author: Tomi Adeyemi

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Pages: 448

Format: Paperback ARC

Source: ARC from Publisher

Publisher: Macmillan Children’s books

Date published: March 8th, 2018

 


“Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.”


Untitled design (4)

16642745“Tomi Adeyemi is a Nigerian-American writer and creative writing coach based in San Diego, California. Her debut novel, CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE, comes out March 6th, 2018 and the movie is currently in development at Fox with the producers of Twilight and The Maze Runner attached. After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she received a fellowship that allowed her to study West African mythology and culture in Salvador, Brazil. When she’s not working on her novels or watching Scandal, she can be found blogging and teaching creative writing to her 3,500 subscribers at tomiadeyemi.com. Her website has been named one of the 101 best websites for writers by Writer’s Digest.”


Untitled design (8)

 

COBB Quiz UK

The Maji Clan system in the book is really thought out and has become one of my favourite magic systems to read so far! Since I was born on the 4th of September, my numbers add up to thirteen. which means, I’m a part on the Tider Maji Clan.  I’ve made a Tider ~aesthetic~  because I’m one of those cool, hip teens of 2018. I put my absolute favourite quote with it, so I hope you like it!

Untitled collage.jpg

The reason this quote is my favourite is because it really shows how much pain can be caused because of ignorance. I cried reading that scene. It was beautiful.

Tiders can manipulate water and ice and the tide changes because of the moon so I hope it was accurate-ish???? I’m pretty proud of myself… I never make these things.


Thank you so much for reading this! What Maji Clan are you a part of? let me know in the comments!

Fey ❤

P.S. A full review for #CBB is coming real soon!


 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s